Sadie’s book: week 1&2

My cousin is a shutterbug, one of the few I know who actually manages to make it in family photos too!  When she announced that she was pregnant I began to plan a project life baby book for her.  The challenge of this book being, her and her husband did not find out the sex of the baby before giving birth!  Hello gender neutral color palette!

SBC_wr-50117-6_0The photo book is 8 1/2″ by 11″ and each layout is the same – two 3×4 slots, four 1×1 slots, and two 4×6 slots.  I plan on doing a number of posts about the cards but other than to show the setup of the book as an example, all of my photos of the project life cards are without the protective sleeve.

Babies change and develop quickly in their first few months – the book breaks down into weeks 1 though 12; months 4 through 12; and holidays.

IMG_1629

Week 1: Using a combination of Ellen Hutson, Lawn Fawn and Hero Arts stamps I stamped my images onto a mixed media card stock.  The hippo, by Ellen Hutson, was colored in with warm grey copic markers.  I took a fine top pen and added stitching detail around the border of the card.

Week 2: I made this card using a combination of Lawn Fawn stamps stamped in Memento black ink and coordinating sentiments stamped in Hero Arts neon ink.  Using a mix of copic grey and blue markers I shaded in the little animals without coloring them.

IMG_0923

1×1 slots:  In an effort to brighten up the pages I made several 1×1 cards that coordinated with the larger 3×4 cards.  Because I tried to remain color neutral to account for either a boy or girl baby my weekly and monthly cards are all white.  The departure from this shows in my holiday cards as well as the 1×1 cards.  I figured these were easy enough to remove or swap around.

These mini cards are made using pattern paper by Amy Tangerine and stamps from a mix of companies, to include: Ellen Hutson, American Crafts, and Studiol2e.

IMG_0920

So based on the post title you can tell – they had a girl!  For more posts on Sadie’s book please look at the pull down menu under ‘Album’.

1 Comment

Leave a comment